Patient Reviews

The providers and staff at Texas Digestive Disease Consultants know that one of the best ways to find a doctor is through reviews. Thanks to the many patients we have served throughout the years, we have compiled a host of reviews for your benefit. We encourage you to read what our patients have to say below to find out if our network of gastrointestinal specialists is right for you. We look forward to serving you at one of our Texas locations soon!

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Sep 15 2023

"One of the best clinics in Grayson County..very friendly staff. Doctor Nathan explained every detail , great Doctor!"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Sep 01 2023

"I highly recommend Dr. Smallwood and his staff, as well as the medical team at Baylor, Scott and White Hospital in Sherman. Everyone was genuinely kind and compassionate, and I felt comfortable expressing any of my questions or concerns to this knowledge and thorough physician."

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google Jul 27 2023

"Was referred to Dr Smallwood by my doctor for a procedure and am thoroughly impressed by how fast he was able to get me in to see him and proceed with my surgery. You can tell he really cares about his patients and understood the pain I was in. I will continue to be his patient now and would refer anybody to him."

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Jul 18 2023

"Office staff were very congenial and extremely helpful in scheduling my appointment. I appreciate that Dr. Smallwood took the time to address my concerns in a caring and professional manner."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Jul 12 2023

"Dr.Smallwood and all of his staff that I interacted with were extremely professional and helpful. I enjoyed talking to his staff, they went above and beyond in helping me and in making me feel comfortable."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Jul 11 2023

"Very nice, professional, and caring"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google May 11 2023

"He was friendly and very thorough. I will definitely keep him and recommend him."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Dr. Smallwood is an amazing doctor!"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Office staff was very nice and helpful. Dr Smallwood was kind and helpful in my situation. Found the issue quickly and addressed the situation head on."

5.0 Review from F.U. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr Smallwood and staff were all excellent. I will recommend to all friends and family. Thanks for the great care!"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Amazing guy with thorough explanations. I was prepared for everything. Even the bad parts I knew completely what to expect and he helped through what he could. Absolutely recommend this guy. Made a terrible situation alittle bit better and I'm greatful for it. Thanks"

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Smallwood was recommended by my brother, and I am so glad we decided to use him for my husbands colorectal surgery. Dr. Smallwood took care of him from the beginning and even to this day. Such a kind and compassionate person who, you can tell, loves what he does. He listened to all of our concerns and addressed them accordingly. I couldn't recommend him enough!"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Nathan Smallwood explained everything concerning my surgery and answered all questions. He was patient and did not rush out of room."

5.0 Review from G.P. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr.Nathan Smallwood was so professional and caring, I would recommend him and his Staff to everyone."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Fantastic. Very compassionate, very informative, and very helpful"

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I was referred by my PCP and so glad to be a patient of Dr.. Smallwood now. At last a doctor who cares!"

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Front desk was friendly and forms were pre-filled! Short wait time in lobby and exam room. Dr. Smallwood was familiar with my chart and easy to speak with. Definitely recommend!"

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Smallwood is absolutely amazing and would recommend him to anyone in need of his services!"

4.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"It was good."

5.0 Review from M.P. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great bedside manner in a very uncomfortable situation. He takes the time needed to make sure you understand and can ask any questions."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr Smallwood was very informative and helpful in getting my Mother the treatment that was needed. He went above and beyond. The office staff was extremely helpful with all our questions. Thank you Dr. Smallwood and staff."

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Smallwood saw me in a timely manner , and he explained test results and gave us a description of future surgery. I am very pleased with his office manner, and with his staff."

5.0 Review from D. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Great Doctor. I would recommend to all my friends and family. Great staff and a very caring about there patients."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"After being referred to doctor Smallwood for surgery from another gastroenterologist . He took the time to listen to my problems and set a path to find out what the real problem is. He gave me samples and thank god they worked. Also scheduled for better CT images to find out what the real problem is. Two weeks into the medication my symptoms have improved vastly and am on the way to a more comfortable existence. Thank You Dr Smallwood"

5.0 Review from G.G. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr.Smallwood is very professional and takes time and listens. Very knowledgeable and experienced."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very nice and professional. His office staff was helpful and answered any questions. Dr. Smallwood made it very pleasant to be there and the nervousness was not as bad. He tries all options to help. Definitely recommend."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Smallwood has made a challenging injury and procedure much easier to handle. Thank you sir! Cheers, Josh"

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I've had a problem for many years and didn't want to address the issue, but when I finally did Dr Smallwood helped me. My most recent office visits was very painful but it was a follow-up to a procedure and it was just one week post-op. Dr Smallwood and his staff made me very comfortable and gave me a place to lie down to ease my pain."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Absolutely great Doctor. Very knowledgeable and takes the time to answer all questions. Shows compassion and care at all times. My family and I highly recommend Dr. Smallwood."

5.0 Review from D.Y. Source: Google May 25 2022

"great experience with Dr smallwood and his office staff. efficient, friendly, we had the most min wait ever for any dr visit with this location. Dr smallwood is really smart and he was patient to check on my mom and also give accurate evaluation. I was shocked how quickly the surgery was scheduled... he perform amazing hemorrhoid removal procedure using the most advanced technology, no stitches and very min of pain pain we are just so grateful to have found him"

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Was highly impressed with the service that Dr Smallwood and his staff provided."

5.0 Review from R.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Smallwood was great from my very first visit. I felt like I was in good hands and he would take care of problems. His after care is second to none. Always available to answer questions and help ease your mind. Thank you Dr. Smallwood for everything you have done for me...Ronnie"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Nathan Smallwood is very thorough kind and patient. I felt very comfortable knowing that he actually "listened " to me as a patient and acknowledged my questions and concerns. I cannot say enough good things about him. He is the only Dr that I know that will give you his cell number after surgery in case you need him. He is also not too proud to request a second opinion before surgery . If I could give him 10 stars or more I would . He is fantastic!!!"

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I view Dr. Smallwood as a very impressionable young Doctor who love the LORD and family as well as his practice. In addition to this he respects his patients. When I went in he was thoughtfully considerate listened to what I had to say gathered the information from me consulted with the more Senior Doctor came back and told me exactly what would take place then got me out quickly. I didn’t feel that I was just a piece of the puzzle to pad his pockets like lots of Doctors will do. He made me feel like a person and the presence of GOD is with him. The staff is hardworking, knowledgeable, and not pushy. They’re effective , efficient, and express empathy for their patients. Haven’t met Dr. Fletcher yet but theirs an old saying that if the head is cut off the tail cannot follow. From my first impression of Dr. Smallwood along with the staff Dr. Fletcher must be good. There establishment is neat and has a home feel to it. Dr. Fletcher along with his staff have their heads screwed on straight. Dr. Smallwood will make his Senior Doctors proud when it’s all said and done people lives will be saved and better because of his application and willingness to evolve. This is my personal experience and what the Holy Spirit shared with me. Overall great experience!"

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Every interaction with every person I encountered at TDDC was a very positive one. I would recommend Dr. Smallwood any time. He gave me the best, most personalized care I have ever received from any physician, much less a surgeon. He was genuinely interested in me as an individual, and I felt that he really cared about improving my quality of life, which my surgery did. Desiree Frye, NP also gave me the same kind of genuine concern for my condition prior to my interaction with Dr. Smallwood. This practice’s response to my questions and calls was always the most efficient I have experienced. I cannot imagine better service and care…….Marla St. John"

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My husband had his first apt. with him last week & we were both impressed with him!"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Best doctor ever!"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great experience! Dr. Smallwood was helpful, informative, and easy to work with!"

5.0 Review from N.Y. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very caring before and after surgery."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2020

"He did fistula surgery to my daughter He is extremely intelligent and very knowledgeable We are very happy and lucky we finally found the right doctor"

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Dr. Smallwood was very personable, caring, generous in time with me. Gifted. I will highly recommend him. He’s a real cutie."

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Best surgeon my husband has ever had."

5.0 Review from N.T. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Dr. Smallwood saved my husband's life. He performed an incredibly difficult and protracted surgery for an unusual cancer and overwhelming complications. He also has worked above and beyond the call of duty to ensure my husband's well-being and recovery. It is rare to find such exceptional compassion and competence in the same doctor and we were very blessed to have him caring for us! --Coralie Taylor"

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr. Smallwood performed emergency surgery on me. I could not have had anyone better. He was very caring and my older children were pleased with him as was I. He actually saved my life. Would highly recommend Dr. Smallwood."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google May 25 2017

"The best Doctor I have ever met hands down!! He really cares for his patients and really took care of me in my time of need!! I would recommend him to any and everyone that needs an oncologist!!"