Patient Reviews

The providers and staff at Texas Digestive Disease Consultants know that one of the best ways to find a doctor is through reviews. Thanks to the many patients we have served throughout the years, we have compiled a host of reviews for your benefit. We encourage you to read what our patients have to say below to find out if our network of gastrointestinal specialists is right for you. We look forward to serving you at one of our Texas locations soon!

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google Jul 11 2024

"Addressed my health issues in detail with me. Spent more time than any doctor I've seen in years discussing my treatment options. Definitely recommend her for your gastrointestinal issues."

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"Very nice professional Would highly recommend"

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"Dr. Amaratunge listens and then takes time to explain her thinking, being happy to answer any questions on the tests and recommendations she makes. In my case, it was a successful process and my issues have been resolved"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"I had an amazing experience with Dr. Amaratunge, her bedside manner is superb! This office is nothing less than professional. They show total concern to their patients and family. This is will be my doctor for life."

5.0 Review from N.F. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"Very pleasant and nice physician and informative about the procedure and after the procedure was done"

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Jun 21 2024

"My procedure was smooth and quick. Dr. Amaratunge was super professional and very helpful with all the questions i had."

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google Jun 01 2024

"Dr Amaratunge is excellent in all ways- patient concern, patient education on options & choices and she listens. As a surgeon she is thorough with feedback before, day of and after surgery."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Dr Amaratunge listens to her patients explain their issues. She will also pose other questions if she did not hear enough details. She will order appropriate test when needed. I have felt confident as a patient with her decision. She is a great doctor with excellent bedside manners."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Mar 21 2024

"Dr Amararunge,, MD was so professional, but very nice and considerate to my mother situation. She went above and beyond to make sure everything was handled properly. I highly recommend her."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"Dr Amaratunge and her staff were awesome!"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Mar 04 2024

"Dr. Amaratunge is great! She’s very personable and I truly like her. Her clinical staff are outstanding! Her best medical assistant just left so I’m hoping her replacement is just as good!"

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"Professional and courteous staff. Dr. Amaratunge had taken good care of me and gone the extra mile to take care of my health. I feel in good hands here."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"Thought it went well. The doctor is taking step to get to the heart of my problem. She seems very caring"

5.0 Review from B.J. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Just moved to town and was lucky enough to find this office, Dr Amaratunge listens to you, is extraordinarily thorough, and involves you in decisions as you work together. I would recommend this practice to anyone."

5.0 Review from I.K. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"I am rarely impressed with the doctors in the states , they generally want to treat the symptoms and don't even try to diagnose the issue . Dr Chami Amaratunge made me think there yet might be hope for great doctors and that they still exist. Highly recommend"

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Jan 27 2024

"Dr. Amaratunge is the only GI I trust. I've had crohns disease for 28 years and have had MANY GI's. She is by far the ONLY one who has been 100% honest with me with my condition. If she doesn't know something she runs tests to figure it out. She outsources some of the best Surgeons and GI Drs. to see what experiences they have had with their own patients. She doesn't have the "I am God complex" and I love that about her. I highly recommend her to anyone who suffers any kind of GI issues. She is positive yet truthful. And she fights for you when you're in the hospital. She takes the time to get to truly know her patients. I have nothing negative to say."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Great Doctor! I am very thankful for her care!"

5.0 Review from N. Source: Google Jan 21 2024

"I wholeheartedly recommend Dr. Amaratunge. I have found Dr. Amaratunge to be a dedicated professional. She has earned my confidence. She is focused and engaged. As we have worked to untangle my condition she has shown a committed effort to creatively problem solve. I am sure with her exceptional skills expertise she will resolve my issues. I’m glad she is part of my health care team."

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Jan 13 2024

"She solved my stomach problems. Hopefully, I won't need to see her again"

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Dec 08 2023

"The staff is wonderful and the doctors gives excellent patient care."

5.0 Review from S.A. Source: Google Dec 02 2023

"I have been a patient of Dr. Amaratunge for years and I can honestly say she is great at what she does. I highly recommend anyone that have any specific needs she treats should chose her as their Doctor. I have one of the best GI Doctors in Texas."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Nov 17 2023

"Very knowledgeable and attentive when talking about what is going on within myself. I believe I will be better with the treatment being provided"

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Very professional listen to me well and being patient and,not rush to answers."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Nov 04 2023

"I'm very impressed with dr Amerstunge. I waited to get an appointment with her but it was worthy."

5.0 Review from N.W. Source: Google Oct 10 2023

"Dr Amaratunge has earned my whole hearted endorsement. She is a skilled physician. Her office staff is efficient and pleasant. I have found her to be professional and compassionate. She carefully listened to my concerns. She assessed my symptoms and quickly came up a game plan. I am very reassured to her as part of my medical team."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"By far, the best doctor I’ve ever seen. Very friendly and efficient staff."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Sep 29 2023

"My husband and I both see Dr. A for yearly visits. She has performed several procedures for us. She is awesome: knowledgeable, caring, listens to our concerns, no long waits at appointments, friendly staff, great bedside manners."

5.0 Review from B. Source: Google Sep 12 2023

"Great doctor. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Sep 12 2023

"I highly recommend Dr. Amaratunge! She took the time to listen to all my concerns and answered all of my questions and I never felt rushed. She and her staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google Aug 18 2023

"Dr. Amaratunge was phenomenal. She was very attentive and listened to my concerns."

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Jul 18 2023

"She was great. She answer all my question."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jul 11 2023

"Great facility and top notch Doctors"

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Jun 27 2023

"Exceptionally good. Rigorous and very patient to discuss the details. She reflects lot of positivity."

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google May 25 2023

"Excellent Doctor"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Professional bedside manner, thorough and just an all around friendly and personable physician."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"They were very nice and pleasant I understood the doctor very well can't wait to my follow-up thank you."

5.0 Review from Y.R. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"My consult with Dr Chami Amaratunge was very thorough and I was satisfied with my whole experience in the office."

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"This is a very nice Dr she really show she care"

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"The experience has been good. Almost to the root cause of my issue."

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"I felt that the Doctor really cared about my health She explained everything she told me about my pass results and my upcoming procedure"

5.0 Review from W.S. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"She was very courteous and seemed extremely knowledgeable. See listened to all my concerns and addressed them."

5.0 Review from R.O. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr Amaratange has been my wife's GI doctor for over 4 years. She has provided an excellent level of care with a wide range of issues. She is extremely reliable and knowledgeable. I recommend her highly to anyone seeking first class care."

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"She’s so caring thorough and knowledgeable. This is my second time seeing her and she has a patient for life. I actually felt like she heard me and my concerns."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Feb 03 2023

"This was my first appointment. Dr. Amaratunge was friendly, answered my questions, and took her time with me. The office and patient rooms are very comfortable and the staff was also very nice."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr. Chami Aramatunge has been my Gastroenterologist for many years now and she is one of the kindest doctors I have. She explains everything so you understand what is going on and she makes sure you have your yearly checkups. She is the best. Judi Causseaux"

5.0 Review from Q.0. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr A is a understanding and shows compassion to someone like myself makes me feel heard especially since I’m a woman of trans experience it feels good to be treated with dignity for that I’m truly grateful !!!"

5.0 Review from E.R. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Staff and doctor are very pleasant and dr answered all my questions and concerns"

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I appreciate and love Dr. Amartunge and her staff. They are very professional and caring. She is very thorough, and I'm glad she is my doctor."

5.0 Review from H.9. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Great all around."

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Amaratunge has an excellent bedside manner. She was very thorough with her assessment. This was my first time seeing her and I look forward to her treating me."

5.0 Review from W.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge was great and took the time to listen to my comments and questions and followed up with clear recommendations."

5.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. A is a great gastro doctor. She takes her time and she listens well."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Ameritunge is warm, consoling and very professional. She and I are trying to figure out my digestive problem together. She has been extremely thorough and informative. I would recommend her services to my friends and family members."

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"She was the only phys out of 3 diagnosed my achalsia. She's takes care of my family members as well. Thank you for my care and your beautiful smile."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I had the pleasure of seeing Dr Amaratuage. She was very thorough in helping me to understand how she will be able to help me solve my problem. It was a nice visit."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Nice clinic, good administration, relatively quick/easy, adequate parking, and nice introductory visit with Dr. Amaratunge"

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"The service was awesome"

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"The staff is amazing love it"

5.0 Review from V.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge is an excellent doctor. She is caring and extremely knowledgeable. I have UC, and ever since coming to Dr. Amaratunge, I have had a much easier time getting into remission and staying there. Her office is also way easier than dealing with the big hospitals. Parking and staff are great."

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr Amaratunge was very thorough, very nice bedside manner, and made you very comfortable to ask questions. I would recommend her to others needing a GI doctor"

5.0 Review from G.V. Source: Google Oct 07 2022

"I received great attention, both from the doctor and from the 100% recommendable staff."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Friendly staff and great doctors"

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge is a wonderful. She listens so well and made me feel at ease and validated. Her solutions are realistic and suggestions for healthy living are welcomed. I highly recommend her."

5.0 Review from M.P. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"This doctor was so professional and very throw I would definitely recommend her!! The office was gorgeous and comfortable!!"

5.0 Review from T.C. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr Amaratunge is very thorough, compassionate, and very detailed. She listens to your questions and answers them in a way you understand. She comes up with a plan and even a back up plan. Absolutely love her and feel like she is willing to do whatever it takes to make me feel 100% better. Thank you Dr."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"This was my first appointment. Dr. Amaratunge was friendly, answered my questions, and took her time with me. The office and patient rooms are very comfortable and the staff was also very nice."

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Chami is personable and easy to talk to. Her knowledge and experience help give a peace of mind to finding a solution to your health problems."

5.0 Review from R.O. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge was thorough and attentive during our consult. I look forward to working with her as my GI specialist."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Wonderful doctor very recommended to go to very professional"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Ameritunga and staff are extremely thorough and professional. They respond quickly to phone calls and patient portal correspondence. Wonderful group."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Amartunge is an amazing doctor! During my office visit, she was very thorough, answered all my questions and I did not feel rushed. Even via email, when I had a question, she would answer in a very timely manner. She also has an amazing staff!"

5.0 Review from J. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I have not gotten my results back yet but I am confident that Dr Chami is going to get my issues figured out. She is super patient and asks all the right questions to help navigate issues which is important for me. Kind, friendly and informative."

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"She listened carefully, took my concerns seriously & quickly developed a plan. The office is also very welcoming, & the staff is super sweet."

5.0 Review from C.J. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"She gave me hope and a new way of living"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Amaratunge displayed a very caring, thoughtful, and thorough attitude. She is very professional. I am always impressed with her knowledge, and at the same time she listened to my concern. She is “in the moment”…not checking her watch because of a time limit with a patient. I feel very confident in her ability to diagnose and treat me or any patient."

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"This lady, doesn't talk down to me with lengthy words but #1 ask how have I been and then listens to what I m saying,,knows my history and together we discuss what I'm thinking and why...in other words she really hears me and knows herstuff!! I respect her highly! work, options, how she feels we should best proceed and thruout"

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"The dr was very professional and made me feel very comfortable to discuss my issues."

4.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Just went for consultation was very informative and schedule for For Procedure . She take the time to learn about you and take you threw every step."

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"None"

5.0 Review from G.V. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"(Translated by Google) I received great care, both from the doctor and from the staff. 100% recommended. (Original) Recivi una gran atención ,tanto de la doctora como del personal 100%recomendable."

5.0 Review from I.C. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Listens all questions. Answers with explanations. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Highly recommended. Very calm and clean office. Dr. Amaratunge is very polite and and easy to talk to as well as get a hold of if needed. The office is very responsive to any questions and very efficient for scheduling, being seen, checking out and following-up."

5.0 Review from M.E. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Wonderful physician and great office staff!"

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Excused herself because of lateness but office was busy. Very thorough in asking detail question of my health. Appreciate the time and interest in my health. Not in a rush took time to asked important questions and let me ask questions."

5.0 Review from G.V. Source: Google Jul 24 2022

"I received great care, both from the doctor and from the staff. 100% recommended."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Jul 01 2022

"Dr Amaratunge and her staff have always been caring and professional. She listens to me and never rushes me. I would recommend her to anyone that needs a gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Jun 29 2022

"Dr Amaratunge and her staff have always been caring and professional. She listens to me and never rushes me. I would recommend her to anyone that needs a gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from P.D. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr Amaratinge is caring, professional and very good. She was recommended to me."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge has the best bedside manner! She is friendly, kind and really listens. I’ve been going to her for over 5 years and have sent all my friends and family to her."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have worked with Dr Amaratunge for a few years and I know how good she is with her patients. She is very thorough and has great bedside manner. She is very professional. So when it was time for my screening colonoscopy, I chose her."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have been a patient of Dr. Amaratunge for a short time, about two months. She saw me first when I was in the hospital. When I was released I followed up with an appointment in her office. Both Dr. Amaratunge and her staff were very professional about my care including following up with me after I left their office. She has been very straight forward in dealing with me about my condition and my care. I would recommend her to a member of my family or a friend."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have seen Dr Chami Amaratunge for several years. I had some stomach issues the last couple of months. Call and got an appointment within a few days. She is running test to find the problem. I am able to ask questions & get the test results over the portal. Great way to keep up with everything."

5.0 Review from L.V. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent"

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"She's a great Doctor listen to you and guide you so you are sure of any decisions that has to be preform...Thank you Dr Chami Amaratunge."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge was very knowledgeable, helpful and went even to help my husband get a better care. Their receptionist not so welcoming but some of the other ladies are very nice."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent care and follow up after procedures. Explains everything clearly and will not rush out in and out of the office. Documents in full detail after the procedure(s) are well done. Office staff (Lucy) is very good, follows up well, keeps in touch and knows a lot if asked questions. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS Dr. and her staff members for excellent care and follow up."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very thorough & knowledgeable Doctor. She talked to me as one professional to another. From start to finish she & her office were both personable & professional, something so many offices have forgotten over the years!"

5.0 Review from L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Amaratunge is very thorough and knowledgeable. I feel comfortable and supported with her care. The office works well and efficiently. Excellent Customer Service! Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I am so glad I was able to see Dr. Amaratunge. She was very patient and we spent a lot of time discussing my situation. No time was wasted as she scheduled some procedures right away for me...everything went well and she was very informative with my partner on explaining what she found to be my issues.I would strongly recommend her. Very good beside manner. She was totally unlike most doctors that give you 30 seconds of their time if you're lucky."

5.0 Review from K.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I am so happy with dr Amaratunge. She is incredibly kind, helpful, knowledgeable and eager to help with whatever need you have. She handle everything in a very timely manner and she is very reassuring with any worry I may have. I couldn’t be happier with the service I get there."

5.0 Review from Y.“. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Amaratunge is great. She takes the time to talk to her patients, explains what she’s telling you in terms that anyone can understand. Personally called me with the results of my lab work. Very easy to talk to, makes you feel as if she has all the time needed to answer questions and reassure patient. Nice and friendly conversation, appears to really care about her patients, not only the issues that you’re having, but also cares about you as an individual."

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Every aspect of my visit was exceptional. The staff was friendly and very attentive. Dr Amaratunge was very knowledgeable and described everything during each step. This was my first visit and I highly recommend Dr A and her team."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. H. Chami Amaratunge, MD. I was very professional and friendly and explained to me what my procedure was going to be. I recommend to anyone who has a gastro-intestinal problem."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Amaratunge really made me feel comfortable during my visit with her. She asked me lots of questions and generally was attentive and concerned about any of my questions and symptoms."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr A has been the most caring , concerned, understanding physician that I have had in a long time. I can not give her and her staff enough praise . Everyone makes you feel very welcomed and explains things in layman terms or medical terms it’s your choice. They including Dr A will explain things as many times as you ask or have questions. The office is very conveniently located as well as nice and modern with easy parking (at no charge). I have only good things to say for her and the staff. She has treated my husband (saved his life from 6 small intestine bleeds) and now is taking care of my issues. Brenda Bass"

5.0 Review from E.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The dr is highly professional although I don’t speak clear English she was very kind and patience with me I got an endoscopy with her and I feel better now she gives me the confidence I was looking for."

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Amaratunge is thorough and respectful of your time. She saved my life in 2017. What else can be said? I’m forever grateful for her."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Each office visit is personable and informative. She takes her time and explains everything. The colonoscopy was quick and painless—she’s there when you awaken to give you details and she has great bedside manners!! I’m glad I found Dr Amaratunge—-she’s the BEST!!"